Time Capsule Thursday

Time Capsule Thursday : The Early 2000’s!

I graduated high school in 1999. We were on the verge of everything at that point…the internet,DNA,cloning…Y2K and I was 18. Anyone remember the joy of dial-up? Remeber the Myspace top 8? Tom…?

Life was good…bright…glittery 🙂 A lot of the trends from the 90’s carried over like wide leg jeans or flairs. Cargo pants and shorts were HUGE as well as flowery over shirts and lace rimmed tank tops. Belly rings were a big deal.

Hair was filled with chunky highlights in blonde or red and filled with rhinestones or butterflies. Playboy bunny emblems,butterfly and cherry print were all over and most girls I knew had a fake Louis Vuitton patterned cell phone cover or purse. Dooney&Burke purses and ripped/ whiskered jeans were the love of my life! I also discovered my love of Hollister,AE and A&F.

Some of my favorite movies came out of the early 2000’s. Lord Of The Rings got me fascinated with Fantasy again,Memento really made me think and Big Fish became my all time favorite Tim Burton movie.

I may have watched too much tv in the 2000’s. I was 100% team Pacey when Dawson’s Creek ended,no other couple meant as much to me as Liz and Max though on Roswell….until Meredith and McDreamy on Grey’s Anatomy. Rip my heart out…go ahead..just take it!

I squirmed through Fear Factor,and learned about life through Sex&The City and E.R…

The music was good too. John Mayer is forever my favorite singer. His lyrics are just so real to me. I have been listening to him for so long now. I attended three of his concerts in the early 00’s,back when a 2nd row ticket would cost you around $27.00 Oh the good ol days…

Recreating an early 2000’s look is super simple. I have much fuller brows now than I did then so I had to work around that by using my Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden. Here’s where I tell you ladies to not give into the thin brow trend if that comes back around. Your brows will never recover from it. Haha.

Anyway! To get the thin look,I covered the part of my brow I wanted to “shave away.” After that I used a white Body Charms shadow purchased at Claire’s in either the 90’s or early 00’s. I covered over the primered part of my brow and then highlighted my brow bone with this white Loreal loose shadow that has a bit of gold tone to it.

Then I decided to smoke out my eye area with this Morbid Makeup black pan that I have used to death from Hot Topic. It’s a great black pigment that’s been with me since like 2001. I applied this Cover Girl Body Frost,also from the 00’s,to my entire lid. All brands jumped on the body glitter train in the 90’s and 00’s. This was Cover Girl’s version. People are actually trying to sell this stuff…discolored and expired online for $30.00! I think I paid like $3 for it back in the day. Mine is still bright white though or else I would not be using it. Patting this gel over top makeup already done…murders the makeup under it. But hey…it’s what we did.

**I never recommend using expired makeup on your face**

Next I lined everything with this Clinique pencil in black. This was what I considered top  of the line in makeup back in the day. The Clinique pencil liner was actually on a Christmas list of mine at one point. Finish it off with some mascara. I’m using Maybelline here,probably would have used some version of that back then too. Maybe Great Lash in that green and pink tube 🙂

And for MORE glitter…I used this Wet N Wild loose glitter to bling out my eyes. It’s amazing I still have vision after all the glitter I’ve used in life around my eyes.

For lips…I took this Rimmel pencil in a neutral shade and lined harshly the outside of my lips then filled it in with a completely clear gloss…as that was the style. SASSY. I remember my friend begging me to give her “Pamela Anderson Lips” for her school photos in 2000. This is how I did it,haha.

At that we are done! For this next step I’m using all authentic stuff of mine from the 00’s.

My baby pink Razr is my favorite cell phone of all time. And yes at one point it had a pretty completely rhinestone cover on it haha. Playboy earrings and flip-flop necklaces were so popular!

“I took a walk around the world
To ease my troubled mind
I left my body lying somewhere
In the sands of time…”

~3 Doors Down,2000

I wasn’t sure that covering my brows with primer was going to work but it did quite well! It really makes the look for me because of how thin my brows were back then!

Comparison of 2002 and now.

“Well I never lived the dreams of the prom kings
And the drama queens
I’d like to think the best of me
Is still hiding
Up my sleeve”
~John Mayer,2002

Until next time…

Don’t mind me…I’ll just be over here listening to John Mayer all day,

MKKXOXO♥

3 thoughts on “Time Capsule Thursday : The Early 2000’s!

Leave a Reply

