Time Capsule Thursday

Time Capsule Thursday : 1950’s Rockabilly

Rockabilly is one of the earliest styles of rock and roll music, dating back to the early 1950’s. It blends country (Often called Hillbilly music in the 40’s and 50’s) with that of rhythm and blues, leading to what is considered “classic” rock and roll. The term “rockabilly” itself is a blend of “rock” (from “rock ‘n’ roll”) and “hillbilly”. Other important influences on rockabilly include western swing, boogie woogie, jump blues, and electric blues. Think : Johnny Cash, Elvis, Buddy Holly and Jerry Lee Lewis.

“I hear the train a comin’ rollin’ round the bend
I ain’t seen the sunshine since I don’t know when
Well I’m stuck in Folsom Prison and time keeps dragging on…”

Rockabilly music cultivated an attitude that assured its enduring appeal to teenagers. This was a combination of rebellion, sexuality, and freedom—a sneering expression of disdain for the workaday world of parents and authority figures.

The style itself followed suit. It’s almost like pin-up but with more eye liner,leather,bigger hair…and much more SASS 🙂

It’s one of my favorite styles! The makeup part itself is super easy. The look is complete in just liner,false lashes and some red lipstick! I cannot do victory roll hair to save my life though!

“I changed my mind, looking fine
Goodness gracious great balls of fire…”

Today I wanted to recreate a simple Rockabilly 50’s look. I started with my base makeup :

  • Used a damp beauty blender with  Hard Candy Glamoflauge concealor all over my problem spots and to porcelain out my skin tone.
  •  e.l.f powder
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Paarty.
  • I contoured with Pixi By Petra Bronzer in Summertime (nose,chin,cheeks)
  • Wet N Wild Highlighter in Precious Petals.
  • Ofra on my brows
2
All products mentioned. *all fur pictured is fake*

Once I had my base down I used the Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Palette to make my whole lid area evened out. I wanted a clean area,just a tad bit of color.

I used Bathwater as a brow bone highlight,Skimp all over and Stark in the crease. I show a swatch below because I constantly hear people say all the colors in this palette are the same. They definatley are NOT!

After this I used the shade Panther (black) from the Too Faced Cat Eyes Liner and Eyeshadow Palette with the Too Faced Liner brush to make a super big wing 🙂 If I’m doing pin-up looks or anything that needs a great wing…this palette/brush are my go to products!

Next I pop on a set of Ardell Lashes in Natural to get a uniform lash look. I swear these are two different lashes though! I don’t know how that happened! It’s been that kind of day!

I used my Chella  Highlighter Crayon in Ivory Lace on my water line to open my eyes up.

  •  I used Panther from The Too Faced Cat Eyes palette to line under my lower lash line.
  • Then I applied Maybelline Colossal Big Shot Mascara to my bottom lashes. OMG this stuff is AMAZING. I didn’t have a clue that my lower lashes were SO LONG!!
  •   I used L.A.Splash Liquid Lipstick in Red Carpet to really finish off the look! The red lip is ESSENTIAL!!

Next I clipped in some bangs,dressed myself in a cherry print dress with pearls and tried my best to do something with my hair… 🙂

“Come along my baby, whole lotta shakin’ goin’ on
Yes, I said come along my baby, baby you can’t go wrong
We ain’t fakin’, while lotta shakin’ goin’ on…”

A really fun and simple look overall! I found this dress at a local thrift store for $3! It’s perfect!

Before and after Rockabilly Makeover:

Until next time….

Lost in the 50’s with Elvis,

1352130908343318230217XOXO♥

 

8 thoughts on “Time Capsule Thursday : 1950’s Rockabilly

Leave a Reply

