diy

DIY! Sweet Tea Themed Witch Hat!

I love the smell,names, and look of tea. BUT I don’t like any of it aside from occasionally some watered down sweet tea. Yes I live in the South where the very definition of Sweet Tea is: Sugar-water with a bag of tea waved through maybe twice 🙂

This got me thinking….I may not like to drink tea…it but I like the look…and a light bulb came on! It was October and everyone wanted edgy dark witch themes in photography. It’s my way to break that mold and do something different. Why not witch costumes inspired my the names or varieties of tea? This is the type of witch shoot that could happen any time of the year! So …game on!

0
Pumpkin Spice, Rosehips, Southern Sweet Tea and Earl Grey! Photography By Bill Welch.

I threw this costume together fasssst. I had a pretty good idea in my mind of what I wanted after looking through my closet. It took me a total of two days to complete everything.

I had chosen Southern Sweet Tea because it’s the only tea I like! Lucky for me I had the perfect items around to whip up something in that theme. I like to challenge myself to “Under $20 Cosplay” as a rule.

I managed to make this entire costume …for $0.

I started with a dress I’ve been looking at in my closet forever. I bought it for $3 at a thrift store. It didn’t fit then,doesn’t fit now and it’s a bit broken and stained. After I bought it I dyed it with watered down Lipton tea. It’s great material! So I cut away everything but the skirt. I’m going to utilize all these pieces eventually!

I gathered the skirt up and pinned it to itself at the top to create a sort of ruching in the front into a sort of slight bustle look. After I pinned it I took it off and sewed it lightly where I had initially pinned it. Nope I didn’t sew in a zipper. This upcycle is fast and easy bc I’ll be reusing this material soon.

Next….the hat! I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted to use for it. Some friends of mine had given me some great hats! Super grateful for these! Included were several straw varieties.

7
So many styles!!

The Southern Belle hat had been calling my name for a while now. I decided to use it for this project. The cats were loving the new smells 🙂 They are SO helpful….

4 thoughts on “DIY! Sweet Tea Themed Witch Hat!

Leave a Reply

