Health/Beauty · Time Capsule Thursday

Time Capsule Thursday : 1920’s Flapper

The 1920’s!! What an amazing time to have been alive! Art Deco, F.Scott Fitzgerald,Ragtime and flappers! Everything was changing. Women were starting to vote and it was more common for them to work outside the home. Prohibition was being ignored in speak-easies and after Coco Chanel bobbed her hair and rejected corsets…everyone followed suit!

“It’s the cat’s pajamas!”

Style upon style! Fabulous hats and shoes,dropped waistlines…menswear for ladies!

“Jeepers Creepers!”

I was inspired to create a sort of updated “stage makeup” type look based off makeup from the 20’s. I’m not doing everyday makeup today,I want something…different.

I found some interesting reference photos. Eyebrows in the 20’s are very thin and some drawn on in an intense way! I wanted to sort of adopt that style but keep all my hairs πŸ™‚

So I started with base makeup already on. I used more concealer than normal to really porcelain out my skin. After that I used baby powder to really pale myself out.

I used Ulta brand eyeshadow in Cherry Bomb as blush. I applied it round on my cheeks,instead of sweeped like normal. I used a black eyeliner pencil to draw above my eyebrows. I felt like it worked okay for what I was going for. Then I took RevlonsΒ Diamond Lust glitter eyeshadow in Night and smudged it all over my eye area avoiding my lid. I also smudged it underneath.

After the initial smudging haha…I went back in ,just on the crease,and used the same shadow on a dampened brush. I decided a cut crease would really update this look and pull everything together so I’m winging the shadow out. The damp brush really brought the glitter out in the shadow.

To make the cut crease I’m using my Urban Decay primer in Eden. I’m applying it to my lid and winging it out. I lined my eyes using the same liner as before and scooped it downward near my inner corner. BOOM.

I used Gold Essence pigment by Loreal to bling out my cut crease area. It says gold but it’s more like a white pigment with a gold tint,really pretty! Then I blended out the black in the crease. It took a while for me to get everything blended out since the harsh black was up against more black and a white shadow.

I’m using my felt tip liner by Eyeko to make my wing and line my entire eye. Then I applied thick mascara on both the top and bottom lashes.

Next for the lips I’m using my L.A.Splash liquid lipstick in Red Carpet to create a cupids bow effect! I felt like Betty Boop the minute I applied this!

“Boop Boop Be Doop!”

Yes the brows are wild but I dig it. It’s very different from anything else I would usually do. It’s so much fun to play around. I could see myself using this in costuming. I especially see this for maybe a Bioshock cosplay or for a Murder Mystery Party!

Adding the headband and dress completed my look! I feel like I should be sipping gin out of a garter flask πŸ™‚ haha.

This was pretty fun. It definitely took me out of my comfort zone! I’ll be listening to electro swing music for the rest of the day now!

Before and after the 20’s makeover:

Until next time…

Looking for Gatsby’s green light,

~Atlas Moonkitty

8 thoughts on “Time Capsule Thursday : 1920’s Flapper

Leave a Reply

