Hot Topics

The Triad Women’s March

“The voice was chanting as the fog was lifting
This land was made for you and me…”

~Arlo Guthrie

After the election I was bombarded with “He’s your president,get over it” “Keep your legs closed” “The ACA and Obummercare are different things!” “Protests don’t change anything,waste of time just like you” “Need another bottle or have you stopped crying yet?” type nonsense on the internet.

So…

…on a foggy rainy day in downtown Greensboro,NC I participated in my first real march for human rights…for women’s rights.

0

They estimated around 2800 women,men and children attended the event. Since then I have heard the number was actually around 6500! There were many with signs and plenty of ladies wearing “pussyhats.” Check out  https://www.pussyhatproject.com/ for more information on that movement.

As for myself though…I have decided to be a leader of the resistance and that means…I was going out in costume.

I didn’t mean to exactly cosplay a certain Karen Hallion drawing BUT it sort of happens.

Upon approaching the crowd I was overcome with feelings. I realize exactly why humans can be overcome with emotions. I’m sensitive to energy anyhow but this was unlike anything I have ever felt in my life. It was just pure love and compassion.

siri-rossetti
Photo by Siri Rosetti

The Greensboro sit-ins were an instrumental action, and also the most well-known sit-ins of the Civil Rights Movement.

siri
Photo by Siri Rosetti

We marched past the very same Woolworth that the Greensboro Four used to make their stand against segregation. That’s right,FOUR people. So when you tell me that marching and small groups of people can’t accomplish anything…I’m going to laugh at you. These sit-ins led to increased national sentiment at a crucial period in US history. The Woolworth is now the International Civil Rights Center and Museum.

jeremy-lyall
Photo by Jeremy Lyall

The march started at Government Plaza and ended at  Lebauer Park. Once there we all crowded in close together to hear speakers and inspiring music from local musicians. I was lost in a sea of amazing people.

This was a  completely peaceful demonstration of concerns. It was an incredible experience that I feel happy to have shared with friends and complete strangers. I honestly have nothing but pity for those SO against the gathering of people who are fighting for their rights. Theirs included. Your negativity has been heard but it will not be carried. You get to live with that.

The resistance is here to stay! We will tear down all your walls. It’s just how we are made. We break glass ceilings,we live out loud and we will never stop. I was made for just a time as this…as were you!

siggs

Not every single change has to go through a board or a committee. We have the power to make life better for those around us daily. If you won’t stand for yourself then I will just have to stand for you. If you don’t think you have a need to rise with us then I will rise higher for you!

cra

We don’t have to agree on politics but what we do have to agree on is rights for all humans. That includes the ones different from you. You can be mad and post al the memes you like but we aren’t going away.

“Damn right, we’re snowflakes. Winter is coming.”

Enjoy the ride 🙂

A Leader In The Resistance,

~Atlas Moonkitty

Leave a Reply

